User menu



The November 23-24, 2013 combined meeting of the World Baton Twirling Federation (WBTF) and World Federation of National Baton Twirling Associations (WFNBTA) resulted in the structure of a union to organize an umbrella organization. The official name of the union will be announced in January of 2014.  The Executive Committee comprised of both organizations was formed for the new organization’s governmental structure.  The following officials were elected to positions:

  • Sandi Wiemers, President
  • Beverly Johnson, Vice President
  • Jean Patrick Rousset, Vice President
  • Maurizio Chizzoli, Vice President
  • Jeff Johnson, Secretary General
  • Paul Rutten, Treasurer
  • Amy Williams & Moto Tsuchiya, Sport Administrators
  • Christine Bel, Paola DeMarchi, Darlene King, Dale White and Jackie Stewart, Technical Members
  • Martin Schuchmann, Veronique Tassy and Denise Pearse, Executive Committee Members at Large

The Executive created an initial project for the future by establishing a Grand Prix competition to be held August 10-11, 2015 in Abbotsford, British Columbia, CANADA, where competitors from both organizations will compete in Solo, Two Baton and Teams.  More details to follow in due course.  Please disseminate this information to your membership.

The World Federation of National Baton Twirling Federations (WFNBTA) is a newly formed global organization representing 18 countries in North America and Europe governing all aspects of the sport of the baton twirling operating in each member country as a National Baton Twirling Association (NBTA).

The World Baton Twirling Federation (WBTF) formed in 1979, represents 38 countries throughout the world as the international federation governing all aspects of the sport of baton twirling worldwide, either directly or through its national member bodies.

For further information contact:  [email protected]